Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 45

Thread: High Risk Website

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048

    High Risk Website

    I have a Sophos antivirus console that monitors 1000+ PC's. This website is bringing up alerts today.

  2. #2
    Senior Member of_corpse_not's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    I never heard of it either
    Posts
    1,664
    Rep Power
    21474844
    yesss it has been doing it to me for the last few days or so

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    It is generating a lot of malware. I wouldn't suggest sitting on this site for too long until they fix it.

  4. #4
    fun hater Shins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    13,591
    Rep Power
    21474857
    I'm on my work computer which is locked down and I'm getting nothing.
    Quote Originally Posted by bowieluva View Post
    Listen, if no one cares when a crazy noodle walks in and executes children with a gun, no one cares about anything.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    That you know of, shins. Your network admin can see way more activity than you can. I definitely wouldn't be on the site at work. I am an admin in my office, so its ok if my PC registers malware.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    Ok. It's not just this website, but its effecting mostly vbulletin sites.

  7. #7
    Senior Member of_corpse_not's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    I never heard of it either
    Posts
    1,664
    Rep Power
    21474844
    yeah I have friends who say they love MDS but they won't come here cause of viruses. I've never had trouble until a few days ago.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    It's not a virus. Its spyware/malware/spam. It also could be a false positive.

  9. #9
    Senior Member moosella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,076
    Rep Power
    15039232
    I have Sophos antivirus and can monitor the admin console and haven't seen anything thus far. Maybe there are links on some threads that I haven't been in that are causing the alerts?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    I see the alerts in my admin console.

    This wouldn't be the first time their expensive software has caused a lot of problems. Remember when one of their own developers accidently wrote a script that made EVERY PC across the nation bring up alerts? Thatwas about a year ago.

  11. #11
    Lionfish Whisperer PCP777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    13,273
    Rep Power
    21474862
    I detect nothing.

  12. #12
    Save Bandit! Angiebla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    10,324
    Rep Power
    21474853
    You know who we should ask about this? Faq-he's my tech go-to guy. I need his input before I make any rash decisions.

    "The love for all living creatures is the most noble attribute of man" -Charles Darwin

    Quote Originally Posted by bowieluva View Post
    Chelsea, if you are a ghost and reading mds, I command you to walk into the light.

  13. #13
    Administrator J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    5,489
    Rep Power
    14837620
    how about now?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    Now I'm good, but I'm also behind an apple device.

  15. #15
    Certified Grumple Bottoms Ron_NYC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Queens!
    Posts
    102,991
    Rep Power
    21474952
    Quote Originally Posted by alaina02 View Post
    Now I'm good, but I'm also behind an apple device.
    -1
    Quote Originally Posted by bowieluva View Post
    Ron was the best part, hands down.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    +13

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    Quote Originally Posted by J View Post
    how about now?
    Still constant pop-ups on my windows machine. We run Sophos. I contacted their engineers and it's not a problem on their end. If I stay on this site for too long, my console populates alerts like crazy.

  18. #18
    Senior Member of_corpse_not's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    I never heard of it either
    Posts
    1,664
    Rep Power
    21474844
    i have malwarebytes anti-malware & its still going off like crazy

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    Malwarebytes is a great program! I only use it when I need it. I don't use it as a first line of defense.

    However, my first line of defense, doesn't want me on MDS.

  20. #20
    Lionfish Whisperer PCP777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    13,273
    Rep Power
    21474862
    I have AVG free and no problems.

  21. #21
    Administrator J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    5,489
    Rep Power
    14837620
    oh you know i removed the ads from the forum. but not the articles. i'll fix that later.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    J, still high risk website. I can help you track this! PM me!

  23. #23
    Senior Member blighted star's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Probably South Of You
    Posts
    11,283
    Rep Power
    21474854
    Quote Originally Posted by PCP777 View Post
    I have AVG free and no problems.
    Me too - well, none that it's telling me about?? Maybe that's why this is my 4th ph/tablet in 8 mths?

    I was wondering what killed the others (admittedly, at least one died from hitting the floor when I fell asleep posting. The real culprit is clearly U.S timezones)

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1,392
    Rep Power
    10170048
    So, somebody is sitting behind a test domain, hiding their IP, and gaining access to the server. Did you have to upgrade the PHP J? I heard vbulletin sites had easy targets with the old PHP software.

  25. #25
    Administrator J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    5,489
    Rep Power
    14837620
    it was a vbulletin exploit.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •